close menu
navigation menu


Subject Area: Sciences
Level: TWO-YEAR A Level
Exam Board: AQA
Syllabus No:

What do I need to study this course?

Grade 6 in two single science GCSE’s (including physics) or grade 66 in GCSE Combined Science. Also GCSE Maths at grade 6 or above.

What will I study?

Physics is a fundamental science subject, which involves studying the world of matter and energy and is a key part of science and technology. It seeks to explain everything from the interior of the atom to the largest galaxies in the Universe, and examines living as well as non-living things. You will come to understand some of the main ideas and methods of physics and learn to apply your knowledge to solve problems.


You will study the following units: Measurements and Errors, Particles and Radiation, Waves, Mechanics and Materials, and Electricity.


You will study the following units: Further Mechanics and Thermal Physics, Fields and their Consequences, Nuclear Physics, and Astrophysics.

Your practical skills will be assessed through 12 activities across the two year A level, leading to a separate certificate to endorse practical skills. Exams will test your practical knowledge and understanding. Practical-based questions will form at least 15% of the total A level assessment. 40% of the marks will require the use of higher tier GCSE Maths.

What next?

Not surprisingly, knowledge of physics is an essential requirement for many higher education courses and areas of employment. An A level in physics could lead to careers in any of the following fields and many more: engineering, medicine and medical physics, industry (electronics, aerospace, automotive), meteorology, computing, material science, scientific civil service (research, patents, defence), communications, environmental physics (radiation, pollution control), education, and geophysics (mining, oil prospecting).