close menu
navigation menu

IT BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma

Subject Area: ICT
Level: CTEC Level 3 Diploma
Exam Board: Edexcel/Pearson
Syllabus No:

What do I need to study this course?

You should have grade 4 or above in GCSE English and GCSE Maths. Alternatively, you must have a merit in a level 2/intermediate ICT course.

What will I study?

The course is 100% coursework (no written exams). The course aims to develop the student’s understanding over broad and diverse areas of information technology. Students will learn to use various industry software packages (Fireworks, Photoshop, Visual Studio, Dreamweaver etc.).

This course is equivalent to one A level.

Topics covered:

Computer Systems

Understand the components of computer systems and develop the skills needed to recommend appropriate systems for business purposes and set up and maintain computer systems.

Communication and Employability Skills for IT

Understand both the personal attributes valued by employers and the principles of communicating effectively whist developing communication skills and addressing their own personal development needs.

And 4 from:

• Digital Graphics
• Computer Game Platforms and Technologies
• Website Production
• Software Design and Development (coding)
• Developing Computer Games (coding)
• Event Driven Programming (coding)

What next?

This course will provide you with an excellent opportunity to progress to university. It is a good foundation for the higher study of a computing or software engineering degree. It is also of use to those students who would rather move on to do apprenticeships and could lead to employment within the software development industry.