close menu

Health & Social Care BTEC Level 2 First Certificate

Subject Area: Health & Social Care
Level: BTEC Level 2 Diploma
Exam Board: Edexcel/Pearson
Syllabus No:

What do I need to study this course?

This qualification is equivalent to 2 GCSEs.

This course will provide you with the skills and knowledge essential for a career within the care sector. You will learn how to cater for the needs of people of all ages with widely differing needs.
Enrolling on the BTEC Level 2 course in Health and Social Care at Notre Dame will provide you with the opportunity to achieve a nationally-recognised Level 2 vocationally-specific qualification.

It is possible to combine GCSEs with this qualification.

You will need 4 GCSEs A*– D and an interest in Health and Social Care.

What will I study?

This is a one year course made up of 8 Units: Four mandatory units, two of which are examined.
Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development
Unit 2: Health and Social Care Values
Unit 3: Effective Communication in Health and social Care
Unit 6: Impact of Nutrition on Health and Wellbeing
You will also study four optional Units which will enable you to study specific areas in more depth.

What next?

With further training or study, students go into careers such as nursing, social work and residential care management. If you want to get a job straight away you could work and train in registered care homes, hospitals, nursing homes or health centres. A BTEC First Certificate prepares you for employment and provides a good grounding to go on to a more advanced course such as: A Level Health and Social Care.