close menu
navigation menu

Health & Social Care CTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma

Subject Area: Health & Social Care
Level: CTEC Level 3 Diploma
Exam Board: OCR
Syllabus No:

What do I need to study this course?

This course is equivalent to 3 A Levels. There will be a work placement included in this course.

All students are expected to have at least four GCSEs at grade A*-C or 9-4. You will need at least a grade 4 in GCSE English or a merit in Health & Social Care OCR National/Level 2 BTEC First, if taken.

What will I study?

The CTEC Level 3 Health and Social Care course encapsulates the Health and Social Care sector through a wide range of units embracing learning about an individual’s rights and needs, cultural diversity, the impact of diet, and different sociological/psychological perspectives. The qualification is an ideal foundation for entering the workplace or higher education, providing you with a theoretical background reinforced with practical skills that transfer into the modern world.

The mandatory units for the Extended Diploma are: Developing Effective Communication; Equality, Diversity and Rights; Health, Safety and Security; Development through the life stages; Anatomy and Physiology; Sociological Perspectives for Health and Social Care; and Psychological Perspectives for Health.

The optional units could include: Safeguarding Adults and Promoting Independence; Working in the Social Care Sector; Personal and Professional Development in Health and Social Care; and Caring for Children and Young People.

What next?

Our students progress onto a range of health and social care-related courses at higher education level, such as Primary Teaching, Nursing, Midwifery, Social Work, and Early Childhood Studies. This CTEC also provides an ideal foundation for entering the workplace.