close menu

Health & Social Care CTEC Level 3

Subject Area: Health & Social Care
Level: CTEC Level 3 Diploma
Exam Board: OCR
Syllabus No:

What do I need to study this course?

This course is equivalent to up to two A levels (see ‘What will I study’ below).

All students on either the Extended Certificate or Diploma programme are expected to have at least four GCSEs Grade A*–C (9-4). You will need at least a Grade 4 in English Language or a Merit in OCR National/BTEC First in Health and Social Care (Level 2), if taken.

What will I study?

The Extended Certificate is equivalent to one full A level. The Diploma is equivalent to two full A levels.

Both courses are ideal for students who enjoy learning in a practical, work-related way. You will gain a solid knowledge and understanding of the Health and Social Care sector. The two courses are aimed at students seeking a career in health and social care and/or wishing to progress to higher education. Learners will also develop transferable skills such as communication, research, planning and organisation.

Diploma students will study the following units:

• Building Positive Relationships in Health and Social Care
• Equality, Diversity and Rights in Health and Social Care
• Health, Safety and Security in Health and Social Care
• Infection Control
• Personalisation and a Person-Centred Approach to Care
• Safeguarding
• Physiology

What next?

Our students progress onto a range of health and social care-related programmes in HE such as Primary Teaching, Nursing, Midwifery, Social Work and Early Childhood Studies. These courses will also provide an ideal foundation for entering the workplace.